Russia ramps up pressure on Europe as it halts flows into another EU country

Published by
City AM

By Nicholas Earl Latvia is the latest European country to be cut off from Gazprom’s gas flows, after the Kremlin-backed energy giant accused the country of violating its supply conditions. Russia has already turned off the taps into 12 European Union (EU) member states including Poland, Bulgaria, Finland, Netherlands and Denmark. It has also halted gas sales to Shell Energy Europe in Germany – which triggered Uniper’s massive €15bn bailout. Energy firms from these countries refused to pay for gas in line with an order by President Vladimir Putin requiring rouble accounts to be set up in a Russ…

Read More